​Ahrens Nominated for NFHS Coach of the Year Award

​Ahrens Nominated for NFHS Coach of the Year Award

Oct 17, 2017


The Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union and Iowa High School Athletic Association recently nominated Bettendorf High School Coach Mike Ahrens for the 2016-17 NFHS Coaches Association, Iowa Girl’s Swimming & Diving Coach of the Year. Ahrens was nominated for demonstrating the character traits that make high school athletics a positive experience for everyone involved.

Each year the National Federation of State High School Association’s (NFHS) Coaches Association seeks nominees from each state, in each sport, to honor as State Coach of the Year in that state. This recognition honors coaches for significant achievement in their sport throughout their career. Nominees for girls’ coaches of the year in Iowa are selected by the Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union and approved by the Iowa High School Athletic Association.

The criteria for selecting nominees are coaching background & experience, career successes, involvement in coaches organizations, past coaching honors received, involvement in community service clubs & organizations, involvement in school (other than coaching this sport), implementation of innovative programs for athletes, and philosophy of co-curricular athletics. Individuals selected as state coaches of the year are also eligible for sectional and national recognition.

Category: BHS News