Advanced Placement

Recognizing students who have demonstrated college-level achievement through the Advanced Placement (AP) courses and exams.

(563) 332-7005

The AP Program offers several Advanced Placement Scholar Awards to recognize high school students who have demonstrated college-level achievement through the AP courses and exams.

Bettendorf High School recently ranked #27 in the Iowa AP Index for the Top 50 Schools for 2015-2016 by the University of Iowa’s Belin-Blank Center for Gifted Education, the 11th time it has achieved such an honor since the Belin-Blank Center began rating schools in 2005. In 2015-16, the school year in which AP data was used for the ranking, Bettendorf High School students took a total of 370 Advanced Placement Exams.


Current BHS students selected as AP Scholars

Row 1 – Mizuki Wittmer, Samantha Biermann, Jillian Schenck, Mason Chin, Lucas Whitesides, Keven Lin, Emily Tyra and Joshua Turner
Row 2 - Hazel Ambort, Trinity Borland, Leticia Francisco, Roger Wittmer, Austin Wang, Lilli Ambort and Gabriel Stevens
Row 3 - Yash Singh, Maxwell Herrmann, Holly Harrington, Shannon Micklewright, Adam Edwards and Jacob Corzette
Row 4 - Emma Aanestad, Lita Solbrig, Caroline Baer, Peter Bauer, Zachary
Silver, Joseph Parker and Andrew Del Vecchio
Not Pictured - Luke Soko

This past year, 68 Bettendorf High School students earned AP Scholar designation for their exceptional achievement on the Advanced Placement Exams.

National AP Scholar

Granted to students who receive an average score of at least 4 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.

Joseph Frommelt

AP Scholar with Distinction

Granted to students who receive an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams.

Michael Baer, Alexis Behrens, Kathleen Byrne, Kiana Castro, Andrew Del Vecchio, Joseph Frommelt, Olivia Gasper, Travis Hazelett, Donovan Klutho, Julia Krist, Kaylin Kuhn, Robert Norwood, Bridget Quesnell, Peter Sakalosky, Molly Seybert, Damaris Stroker, Dillon Tabares, Roger Wittmer

AP Scholar with Honors

Granted to students who receive an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams.AP Scholars

Emma Aanestad, Lilli Ambort, Samantha Biermann, Hannah Borgh, Trinity Borland, Adam Edwards, Holly Harrington, Maxwell Herrmann, Marianna Hurd, Lucas Keller, Madison Kling, Isabelle Kussatz, Keven Lin, Jacob Luallen, Shannon Micklewright, Joseph Parker, Jillian Schenck, Samuel Snow, Lita Solbrig, Joshua Turner, Austin Wang


Granted to students who receive grades of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams.

Hazel Ambort, Caroline Baer, Peter Bauer, Nicole Blaum, Donato Callahan, Mason Chin, Jacob Corzette, Alycia Damani-Ladha, Alexander Eitrheim, Leticia Francisco, Samuel Frantz, Madison Hornbuckle, Joshua Karnavas, Ceara Larson, Zachary McDaniel, Andrej Peng, Zachary Silver, Yash Singh, Luke Soko, Gabriel Stevens, Emma Stevenson, Emma Sunderman, Emily Tyra, Alex Vanausdeln, Gabrielle VanderVinne, Andrew Whiteman, Lucas Whitesides, Nicholas Wilkins, Mizuki Wittmer

BHS AP Courses

American Government
Calculus AB
Calculus BC
European History
Human Geography
Music Theory
Studio Art